March 15: Brutus Day

Brutus Day aims to promote recognition of the fact that betrayal, backstabbing and dirty politics aren’t by any means a thing of the past, and are as widespread and tactical in our modern, corporate lives as they were in the forums of ancient Rome. Watch your back, avoid office politics, and look out for your friends!

Well that’s pretty damn depressing. I love Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar. It was the first Shakespeare play I read all the way back in grade eight. I remember not understanding what Shakespeare was going on about (plus it made me really want a Caesar salad) but, once explained, I loved it. It helped developed my tolerance of good ol’Billy S.

(Also who remembers Skye Sweetnam and this glorious hit?)

I respect the fact that Brutus, who is a great character, gets his own day but let’s be real. It’s the Ides of March.

None of this “backstabbing, political nonsense.”

BRUTUS

A soothsayer bids you beware the ides of March.

THE IDES OF MARCH IS NOT YOUR FRIEND, TRUST NO IDES.

I went out to dinner with some friends and ordered a Caesar salad. Cause someone should, just, totally stab Caesar.

gretchen-wieners-thinks-caesar-aka-regina-should-be-stabbed-in-mean-girls-history-class

 

Leave a comment